Product Review: Shu Uemura Skin Purifier High Performance Balancing Cleansing Oil Advanced Formula

If you have checked out any of my previous posts you may already be aware that I am an oily girl with a few skin issues. Because of this, I’m always on the look out for skincare products that help my skin. I’ve had a deluxe sized sample of the Shu Uemura Cleansing Oil for awhile but didn’t commit to using it as a cleanser on a daily basis until recently. Prior to this, I used it on occasion as a pre-cleanse to remove makeup (much like the Dermalogica PreCleanse that I love to use and is created for that specific purpose) but always followed up with my usual cleanser. For the last 3 weeks I decided to use this exclusively to see how it really worked.

This cleansing oil is described as a one-step mild cleansing oil that removes makeup while gently cleansing, moisturizing, and calming the skin. This particular formula is labeled as “for all skin types”, but there are other formulas that address individual skin concerns.

For someone with oily skin the very idea of using oil on your face seems insane. But for some reason (which you may need to do your own research on to truly understand) oil cleansing is a highly successful cleansing method, even for those with oily skin. My personal experience thus far has been surprising and completely seems to be the opposite of what I assumed would be the case. My initial reason for not using this the way it is intended to be used was the film I felt like was left on my skin after use. As I mentioned, I use Dermalogica’s PreCleanse for makeup removal so I used it as a comparison point. Shu Uemura’s cleansing oil is thicker than the Dermalogica version. Both follow the same directions for use: Apply to dry face, use a small amount of water to emulsify into a milky white appearance, and rinse thoroughly. With Shu Uemura cleansing oil the film I felt left behind was due to me not thoroughly emulsifying before rinsing. Once I figured this out I knew how to adjust my routine to properly use this product.

After 3 weeks of daily use, twice a day here are my results.

  • No increase (or decrease for that matter) in skin oiliness
  • No breakouts or skin irritation (my biggest concerns)
  • Increased softness of skin
  • Excellent makeup removal without an additional step needed (such as was the case when I used Dermalogica PreCleanse in addition to a daily cleanser)

Ultimately, I feel very comfortable with continuing this skincare routine, especially through the dry winter months. I have eczema that sometimes shows up on a few areas on my face…so far I have not had any issues with that (when I started using this I did have 2-3 small areas on my face that were not severe but potentially and historically would have gotten worse, but this time it never got worse and cleared up fairly quickly. I must note that I did use topical medication on a few occasions to help speed up the recovery, but even with the medication the process is usually different than it was this time). I expected some sort of negative reaction, specifically breakouts but did not experience this at all. I did not notice any decrease in how oily my skin tends to become throughout the day, but I did not see any increase either. When properly emulsified and rinsed, my skin felt clean and soft  with no hint of oiliness and no tightness to indicate the cleansing oil was drying. I did not feel the “film” I initially felt when using this product, but as I mentioned, that film was due to not properly emulsifying. I have had no issue using this cleansing oil with my Clarisonic cleansing brush (which I use once a day) and can credit the brush for ensuring that the cleansing oil is properly emulsified. This isn’t necessary but it is a bonus for those that may use the Clarisonic and are concerned about the film I mentioned.

I saved this part for the end because this is probably the biggest deterrent for those that may be interested in trying this out. This cleansing oil is a somewhat expensive investment. At $31 for 150 ml (5 fl oz) or $67 for 450 ml (15.2 fl oz) this is clearly more expensive than many other easily obtainable cleansers (non-oil cleansers). It is, however a little cheaper than the Dermalogica PreCleanse, which is $35 for 5.1 fl oz (150 ml). The positive to this is that a little goes a long way so even the small $31 bottle should last you a long time. I do need to point out that the directions tell you to use 4 pumps of the oil…this is far more than anyone would need. 1 pump is more than enough…2 if you want to apply it a bit heavier. Anything more is purely wasting the product AND your money. Unless you live outside of the US you will have to order the Shu Uemura cleansing oil (Shu Uemura stopped being sold in the US at retailers and went to solely being available via their official website)…which may tack on to your cost if there is no current free shipping offer in place.

Final verdict: I would recommend this product to anyone that uses makeup on a regular basis and wants a product that truly cleans all of your makeup while cleansing your skin…even the most stubborn water-proof varieties. I wouldn’t call it a miracle worker so it’s not something that you have to go broke to add to your routine, but it’s worth a try if you have the opportunity.

One thought on “Product Review: Shu Uemura Skin Purifier High Performance Balancing Cleansing Oil Advanced Formula

  1. […] Check out the review I did on this product HERE […]

Leave a Reply

