Product Review: Urban Decay Lip Love Honey-Infused Lip Therapy

Urban Decay’s Lip Love Honey Infused Lip Therapy isn’t a new product at all, but when I recently picked up a new one on sale I thought it might be a good idea to do a review on them.

5

Lip Love is a line of tinted lip balms…or gloss. It’s not quite as thick as traditional balms because it is not a solid, but it’s a bit thicker than some glosses. UD officially calls them a lip therapy. This is perhaps due to the ingredients used and the affects they are said to have. According to the product description on the UD website:

Its healing powers come courtesy of a few ingredients that are rejuvenating heavy hitters. Antioxidant Vitamin C boosts collagen and evens out skin tone. Millet, Jojoba and Apricot Kernel Seed Oils work together as a powerful lip-healing trifecta to moisturize, replenish and promote cell turnover.

The first one I ever purchased was Taut, a nude colored tint. I have always loved this product for those days when I don’t really want to wear a truly pigmented color on my lips but would like to have something on my lips for softness and hydration. This product is extremely sheer so if you’re expecting more opaque coloring this is not the product for you. You get a hint of color, but the real benefit is the moisturizing and skin softening you get with these. The slight tint would be the bonus. Because these are more of a balm wear time is a bit difficult to determine. You may find yourself reapplying often…much like you would with any other lip balm or chap stick. This is especially true for those of you that tend to lick their lips when wearing anything with a slight taste since Lip Love has a slight honey taste (hence the Honey-Infused portion of the name). There is a honey scent to it that may seem strong to some people when smelled directly from the tube, but the smell is not strong or lingering once applied. I usually wear these alone but I have used them underneath a more drying lip product or on top of to add a bit of a gloss.

I mentioned that I purchased another one because it was on sale. The color I purchased was a berry tinted Stung. In the tube it looks dark…almost purple, but it definitely doesn’t apply that way at all. As is the case with Taut (and I suspect all of the line) it is sheer with just a hint of the coloring. Below are some pics to show you how they look on me!

photo 1photo 2photo 4

photo 5

Overall, this is a great alternative to traditional colorless lip balms used for moisturizing and healing chapped, dry lips. I’m not sure if they are still easy to find in stores (my local Ulta where I purchased the first one no longer carries them) but they are available on the UD website. The price tag might be a bit much for some people ($12), but Stung has been on “sale” for several months at just $4. Each tube is 0.34 oz (10 ml). Even with regular use the tube seems to last for a long time. I have had Taut for close to a year and have yet to even use half of the tube!

Leave a Reply

