My Top 10 Products from 2012

I have tried a ton of products since starting this blog in June 2012, many of which I have blogged about but I thought I’d make a list of my top 10 products from 2012 and why I loved them! These are not listed in any particular order. It also should be noted that in some cases, these weren’t new products just released in 2012….they are products that were new to me! As I started compiling this list I realized that picking just 10 great products is a lot harder than it seems, so hopefully I won’t feel like I left any out!

Clarisonic Acne Clarifying System

Clarisonic Acne Clarifying System

Clarisonic Acne Clarifying System

This was one of those products I was skeptical about for a long time, but when my acne became unbearable I decided to take a leap of faith and try it out. I have never been happier with such a pricey skincare purchase in my life! Although the system comes with a face cleanser, I have not used it so that is the only portion of the system that I have no opinion on. Check out my review HERE

Shu Uemura Skin Purifier High Performance Balancing Cleansing Oil Advanced Formula

Shu Uemura Skin Purifier High Performance Balancing Cleansing Oil Advanced Formula

Shu Uemura Cleansing Oil

With me being an oily-girl (on top of my acne issues) it took awhile for me to warm up to the idea of using this as a daily cleanser, but once I did I was pleasantly surprised by the results. It’s definitely on the pricey side and not easily obtainable (you have to order it from their website if you live in the U.S.) but it is definitely worth it in my opinion. The only major downfall for me is their poor, almost non-existent customer service when it comes to order issues (experienced issues every time I dealt with them for orders) so sadly, this may affect my willingness to purchase when I run out. Hopefully I can find another channel for ordering (one day I may post a blog about a few poor CS experiences with brands I love. I’ve been putting that off because I really hate to give negative reviews on CS that may affect others willingness to try an otherwise amazing brand).

Check out the review I did on this product HERE

The Vice Palette eye shadows

The Vice Palette

Urban Decay The Vice Palette

Urban Decay The Vice Palette

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Urban Decay The Vice Palette

What you may have noticed is that I am first and foremost an eye shadow addict and Urban Decay is one of my favorite brands for e/s due to their buttery soft formula. The only exception would be the extremely glittery variations that they offer. This year, The Vice Palette has been one of my favorite palettes to use when color is a must. This palette offers a healthy amount of variety (neutrals, mattes, shimmer, glitter, bold pops of color). I’ve had a lot of fun playing with it for looks and have used it several times so far for my 365  Days of Eye Shadow Challenge.

Click HERE to read the full review on this product.

 

MAC Face & Body Foundation

MAC Face & Body Foundation

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

MAC Face & Body Foundation

In general, I am not a huge foundation fan so I absolutely miss the days when foundation was only used for special occasions. Unfortunately, I went through a period where I needed the coverage (when my acne was at it’s worst). Luckily, my skin is much better so on days when my skin is relatively clear and I feel I need a little something to even things out I love to grab this foundation. It reminds me of the feeling I used to get from my Prescriptives tinted moisturizer (can’t recall the specific name)…a light, barely there formula that looked natural. Face & Body is build-able to a medium coverage if necessary, but otherwise it is sheer. Because it is water based it plays well with my acne prone skin. I absolutely LOVE this product! I’m surprised I haven’t done a review on this yet…I may have skipped it due to the fact that it wasn’t a new product as much as it was a smaller sized bottle release. Something I may need to consider reviewing soon!

 

 

OCC Pro's Picks Lip Tar Set

OCC Pro’s Picks Lip Tar Set

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

OCC Lip Tars

OCC Lip Tars have become my lip color obsession! I literally went from having 5 (that came in the set pictured above) to having 16! I love the custom mixing experience and the long wear achieved with these.

Check out the review I did HERE 

 

Urban Decay Ocho Loco 24/7 pencil set

Urban Decay Ocho Loco 24/7 pencil set

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Urban Decay Ocho Loco 24/7 eye pencil set

2012 was the year of the eye liner for me. I rarely liked to use eye liners before this but once I discovered the UD 24/7 pencil it became my go-to liner. 2012 introduced the Ocho Loco set and my favorite go-to colors for the majority of my looks. Aside from having my all-time favorite black liner (Perversion), it also has a range of colors that suit my needs. I tend to sway more towards neutral colors or trusty old black, but I love every color in this set. It also introduced me to the Grindhouse sharpener…previously I felt like all sharpeners were the same so why pay $10 for something you could get far cheaper. This sharpener showed me the error in my thoughts lol.

Read my Ocho Loco review HERE

 

Jack Black Intensive Therapy Lip Balms: Shea Butter & Vitamin E and Grapefruit & Ginger

Jack Black Intensive Therapy Lip Balms: Shea Butter & Vitamin E and Grapefruit & Ginger

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Jack Black Intensive Therapy Lip Balms

Like many women, I have an arsenal of lip balms meant to help me achieve the softest lips possible…many of which fail, some of which are adequate…and sometimes you get one that is absolute perfection. I had that perfect product in an H20 lip treatment that I had received as a free gift, but I was unable to track down the same product to purchase when I started to run out of it (I had it for a long time before I finally tried it!). After reading several reviews I decided  to give Jack Black a shot…and I absolutely fell head over heels in love with it! So much so that I went back and purchased 2 more, just in case the lip balm Gods decided to play the same cruel game they had with my H20 product. This lip balm is made for a man but don’t let that discourage you. It is the perfect lip  balm to help you get and keep soft, smooth lips and comes in a variety of choices.

Check out my review on this product HERE

 

Urban Decay Naked Basics palette

Urban Decay Naked Basics palette

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Urban Decay Naked Basics palette

The first UD product that made me a fan of the brand was the original Naked palette…and of course, I love the Naked 2 palette. I originally planned on skipping this offering assuming that I had  more than enough UD Naked shadows and that this one wouldn’t be useful. I was absolutely wrong! This palette is a great compliment to both Naked palettes, any other shadows you use, or on it’s own. The difference is simple…aside from one semi-matte (I say it’s a satin/faint shimmer) color, this palette is all matte. It is smaller (only 6 shadows) but the formula is amazing compared to a lot of other  matte shadows out there.

Read the Naked Basics review HERE 

 

Shu Uemura Orange & Pistachio palette

Shu Uemura Orange & Pistachio palette

Shu Uemura Orange & Pistachio palette

It took some work to get my hands on this palette (another poor experience with Shu Uemura Customer Service…thankfully, I had another way to get it) but once I did I fell in love. I had been coveting Shu Uemura eye shadows for awhile but was having a hard time deciding on which shadows to pick from the website (the cost and the inability to view in person were big parts of my hesitation), but when the Chocolat Donna line was announced this palette caught my eye. Cost wise, it was cheaper to get this than it would have been to pick 6 shadows to fill a palette on my own. The formula is so buttery and soft they apply almost as if they are a cream! The glittery shade (1st one shown above) is more sheer than it appears but fallout is almost non-existent!

Check out the review for this product HERE

 

Lancome TEINT IDOLE ULTRA 24H Foundation

Lancome TEINT IDOLE ULTRA 24H Foundation

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Lancome TEINT IDOLE ULTRA 24H

As I mentioned earlier, I’m not a foundation fan  but unfortunately, there are times that I actually NEED it. This foundation is the one I use when my skin is at it’s worst and I need some heavy duty coverage. It is a full coverage foundation, but it doesn’t feel heavy like many similar marketed products would. More importantly, I was able to find my perfect shade in this…one that did not appear too orange for me (an issue I have had with every MAC foundation I have ever tried except Face & Body). That alone made it my HG full coverage choice. Sometimes my oily skin can challenge the transfer-resistant claim but even on those days where I have to blot the oil away this foundation still looks great no matter how long my day may run. I didn’t do a review on this foundation either so I may need to add that to my list of reviews!

 

 

Leave a Reply

