Influenster Holiday VoxBox 2012: Goody QuikStyle

The following product was provided complimentary by Influenster for testing purposes.

iPhone 5 002

The Goody QuikStyle brush is a hairbrush with microfiber that is meant to make styling wet hair quicker by reducing the time it takes to dry your hair. Goody claims that this brush removes 30% of the water in your hair. According to their website, the product features are:

Absorbent microfiber bristles remove 30% of water for faster styling
Antimicrobial microfiber keeps the brush fresh
Side Vents for maximum air flow
Lightweight design to reduce hand fatigue while drying
Ergonomic handle is textured for extra grip

iPhone 5 004

Since I blow dry my unrelaxed hair as one of the steps when straightening my curly hair I was excited to try this product out. I was a bit skeptical though. The brush I currently use is a ceramic rounded one with stiff bristles. The QuikStyle brush I received is a paddle brush with plastic bristles. Despite my reservations I went ahead and used this brush to put it to the test.

The brush was comfortable to hold during the process. It was indeed lightweight and the ergonomic handle wasn’t too hard or slippery. Unfortunately, for my hair type this brush didn’t provide me with the same smoothness I am accustomed to when doing my blowout. I wanted to make sure this wasn’t just a first time user issue so I tested it on 2 other blowouts that I did since receiving it and noticed the same results. On this alone I am less apt to rely on this brush alone for my blowout needs. The positive was that it did indeed suck up a lot of the water in my hair, even when I used it without assistance of the blow dryer. It was perfect for detangling without pulling my hair harshly which is always a plus!  For that reason, I would likely use this brush when brushing out sections of my hair prior to blow drying with my usual brush. I may find that I get better results with half-rounded version of this brush so I am considering checking that one out.

Overall, I think the concept of this brush is a good idea, but it wasn’t the best choice for my hair type and needs.

For information about this brush please visit the links below!

Goody website

Goody Product Page on Influenster

Goody QuikStyle paddle brush

Leave a Reply

