Product Review: Revlon ColorStay Ultimate Suede lip color

Flashing Lights pic Private Viewing pic

Revlon advertises their ColorStay Ultimate Suede lip color as a lipstick that you can leave at home after applying. They claim that it’s velvety soft formula shea butter and aloe formula stays on all day so I decided to give a couple of their colors a test run. These come in 20 colors, but I only grabbed Flashing Lights (left) and Private Viewing (right) at my local Target.

The first thing I noticed during application was how sheer these were on my lips. It took several swipes to get a semi-opaque application. In the case of Private Viewing, the color didn’t show much on my lips, but that may not be the case for others. I don’t know if this is the case with all of the colors that they have, but it’s something to consider if you want a more opaque coverage lip color. The “suede” would be the semi-matte finish that these lip colors have. For me, this meant once the color set it settled in to every possible line on your lips so dry lip girls beware! It wasn’t initially uncomfortable on the lips as traditional mattes may be for some, but once it dried down you couldn’t rub your lips together with ease. When you first apply them they have a slight glossy look that is pretty but they quickly dry down. There is a slight shimmer in the 2 colors that I purchased…and I suspect that is the case across the board which helps give them the semi-matte look.

Revlon ColorStay Ultimate Suede lip color in Flashing Lights

Revlon ColorStay Ultimate Suede lip color in Flashing Lights

Revlon ColorStay Ultimate Suede lip color in Private Viewing

Revlon ColorStay Ultimate Suede lip color in Private Viewing

Wear time with these is what I really wanted to test…especially the claim by Revlon that they are “food proof”. I found this statement to be false…the color pilled on my lips after drinking and light eating. I also noticed that the claim of them being moisturizing was less than accurate. For me they actually leaned more towards drying after 45 minutes!  I was only able to get 2 hours of decent wear before I felt the need to remove and reapply. Attempting to touch-up was not a good option because the dry lip color would pill and make your lips look even drier.

Ultimately, I felt like these lip colors were not worth the price ($8.49). I don’t think you could realistically leave home and expect great wear unless you plan not to eat or drink at all. These have been out for awhile so there are a few reviews on them to compare others experiences with these lip colors.

 

Leave a Reply

