Influenster: Schwarzkopf Professional OSiS+

*This product was received complimentary for testing and review purposes from Influenster*

Gelastic

Schwarzkopf Professional OSiS+ Gelastic an ultra strong flex gel that is supposed to give all day definition. It is labeled as a level 4 product in the “texture” arm of the line – level 4 being “Ultra Strong Control”. The bottle I received was 5.07 oz and is a salon exclusive. It can be found at retailers like Ulta, typically in the Salon area of the store. I’ll admit that I don’t normally use hair gel although I used to be a major user of it when I was in high school so I’m not new to it’s use lol.

The first thing I noticed and appreciated was the clear color of the gel. Often,  you find hair gels choosing to have color to them…something I never really understood (except for the one I used to use that was a deep brown color and was I believe primarily marketed as an African American hair care product. That one meant less chance of the white flake affect on dark brown hair). The scent of this gel is fresh and not at all overpowering like some that are heavily alcohol based seem to be. Because I don’t often have a need for a textured styling product I opted to use this when it came to the slicked back ponytail portion of my hair week. Trust me when I tell you that this stuff is 100% accurate when it says ultra hold! The first time I used it I went a little to heavy with it and found my hair absolutely bulletproof! Unfortunately, this also meant heavy flake factor for me. Since I don’t wash my hair every day unless I’m going curly this meant waking up to what looked like snow city! No problem though….a little water “reactivated” the gel and I was able to slick it back into another perfect ponytail without adding anymore gel. The next time I used it about a week later I decided to use on of my old gel tricks and added a little bit of a moisturizing hair dress (anything you may apply to your hair to make it softer or survive humidity will work just fine) to help eliminate a bit of the flake risk and to tone down the hold from “ultra strong” to just a manageable “strong”. Both times I used it I applied it to dry hair but you can use it on either dry or wet hair.

Overall, I would recommend this gel to anyone that loves to play with texture and needs a gel that can hold up to any conditions. It only takes a little so be easy when you apply! For more info on this product and others in the Schwarzkopf Professional OSiS+ line up you can check out their website HERE.

Leave a Reply

