Product Quickview: MAC Pressed Pigments for Fall 2013 w/Swatches

fall2013_macpressedpigments001

 

You’ve probably seen the buzz for MAC’s latest edition of the Pressed Pigments line for Fall 2013. This time there are 12 options to choose from, 5 of which are limited edition. The 215 Medium Shade Brush (the bigger brother to the 214 brush in my opinion) is also being promoted with this collection. The pressed pigments retail for $21 (US) while the brush retails for $25 (US). You can check out the quick swatches I did later! 

MAC Pressed Pigments for Fall 2013

MAC Pressed Pigments for Fall 2013

mac-pressed-pigments-fall-2013-collection-1 mac-pressed-pigments-fall-2013-collection-2 mac-pressed-pigments-fall-2013-collection-3 mac-pressed-pigments-fall-2013-collection-4

 

  • Vanilla Diamond Warm yellow beige (Limited Edition)
  • Moth Mauve with silver pearl (Permanent)
  • Lime Ice Seafoam green (Limited Edition)
  • Rock Candy Mid-tone fuchsia (Permanent)
  • Summer Honey Pastel coral (Limited Edition)
  • Black Grape Deep aubergine with multi pearl (Permanent)
  • Pink Pepper Deep coral with gold pearl (Limited Edition)
  • Damson Deep brown with gold pearl (Limited Edition)
  • Midnight Vibrant deep blue (Permanent)
  • Sweet Acting Midtone pink (Permanent)
  • Enlightening Deep silver (Permanent)
  • Jet Couture Charcoal black (Permanent)

I picked up 8 colors from the collection including all of the limited edition options. Some of you may recall that I wasn’t thrilled with the original release of these when they came out with the Face & Body collection due to the glitter ball effect. This is why I skipped the 2nd release of these. Don’t get me wrong, Deeply Dashing, one of the 2 pressed pigments I originally purchased is a gorgeous color and one I still recommend to anyone interested in these. I actually learned to love the pressed pigments a little more when I started using Lit glitter base to help curb the glitter fallout. Because of this I finally felt ready to dive in to this collection for a 2nd try.

Here are a few quick swatches of the ones I purchased.

Summer Honey, Rock Candy, & Pink Pepper

Summer Honey, Rock Candy, & Pink Pepper

Lime Ice & Vanilla Diamond

Lime Ice & Vanilla Diamond

Damson, Moth, & Black Grape

Damson, Moth, & Black Grape

Just from the initial swatches I can tell that some of these are more shimmery than they are glittery (meaning they don’t have large glitter pieces). Black Grape would be a great example of one that seems to apply more like a smooth, shimmery shadow. Summer Honey applies a bit more on the glittery side. I just received these today  so I haven’t been able to really test them out. They are available on the MAC website as of this afternoon (they were supposed to be up on the 25th, but any MAC fan knows that MAC releases things when they feel like it). They will be available at counters on August 1st.

As a side note, I did experience a little of a disappointment with the shipping of my products. 4 of the pigments arrived shattered. This, unfortunately is just another disappointment with my online ordering experiences (including the RiRi Hearts Summer fiasco which I’ve tried hard not to blog about lol). Hopefully my shattered pressed pigments are a rare situation and not something anyone else experiences.

Leave a Reply

