Quickview: Fave Products of 2013

We’re comfortably in to the start of 2014, but I thought I would share some of my favorite products from 2013. This was a difficult to compile list (and it really doesn’t include everything).

Make Up Forever HD Foundation and Primer

Make Up For Ever HD Foundation and HD Primer

Make Up For Ever HD Foundation and HD Primer

I picked up the Make Up For Ever HD Foundation and HD Primer at The Makeup Show Orlando along with a few other MUFE foundations and I immediately fell in love with them. I reach for these two products most often when I wear foundation (and I use the primer with any foundation I choose to wear now).

Tip: For those with oily skin set foundation with MUFE Super Matte Loose Powder. 

Make Up For Ever PRO Artist Palette (The Makeup Show Exclusive)

Make Up For Ever Pro Artist Palette

Make Up For Ever Pro Artist Palette

mufeproartistpalette

This is another MUFE product that I picked up from The Makeup Show Orlando and is perhaps my top favorite eye shadow palette of the year. The pigmentation, the colors, and the quality of the shadows meet and exceed my extremely picky requirements and has been a palette that I reach for often. Fans of MUFE know that their colors are labeled by numbers which can be a little tricky with remembering which color is which, but you get used to it.

Tip: If you purchase a palette to put your MUFE singles in make sure to label it in a place where you can clearly see it so you can easily identify and remember which colors you used to create a look. 

Another favorite MUFE product I’ve been using a lot is the Aqua Black cream eye shadow. I often use it as liner or for smokey eye looks. I love how pigmented it is (a true deep black) and that it is waterproof.

aquablack

Lit Cosmetics Glitters

Lit Cosmetics Glitters

Lit Cosmetics Glitters

I was first introduced to Lit Cosmetics earlier in 2013 at IMATS NY where I purchased 3 glitters and Lit Kit. By the end of the year I had well over 20 glitters in my collection and want more! Not only do I love the product (you can check out my previous reviews), but I love the amazing customer service and of course, the amazing founder Jodie! She has always been so sweet from the first time I met her at IMATS to each time I’ve dealt with her for orders. She has also generously provided me with a few Lit Kits throughout the year that were made available to my readers for giveaways. Now that the line has expanded to Sephora stores I’m excited for what else is in store for this brand!

SugarPill Eyeshadows

SugarPillshadows

I finally got around to trying this brand out in late 2013 and I don’t know what took me so long! Their shadows are super pigmented and so easy to work with. In addition to the ones I have pictured above I have the Cold Chemistry palette (you can check out my review on that palette and these shadows). I was hoping to get my hands on the famed Pro Palette but it never showed up on their website and unfortunately they don’t seem to ever come to the NY IMATS (fingers crossed that they may change their minds this year).

Obsessive Compulsive Cosmetics

If you’re a fan of my blog you already know I have a long standing love with OCC’s liptars (you can check out previous reviews and my OCC Lip Tar Swatch Library that seems to be a fan fave and the most visited section). So it’s no shock that one of my faves for 2013 includes liptars. Specifically, the liptars released in the ModernCraft collection. With gorgeous colors like Black Metal Dahlia and the unique Sebastian this collection was my favorite one released this year from OCC.

OCC ModernCraft Collection liptars

OCC ModernCraft Collection liptars

I was also finally introduced to OCC’s Loose Color Concentrates and Skin Conceal. Skin Conceal has become my go to concealer (and when mixed with a little moisturizer it’s a great cream foundation). Loose Color Concentrates are a great loose pigment style product that can be used on the eyes and are a fun enhancement for liptar looks. I love the color range and the pigmentation.

OCC Loose Colour Concentrates

OCC Loose Colour Concentrates

OCC Skin Conceal

OCC Skin Conceal

MAC Cosmetics

Any MAC fan already knows that 2013 was a whirl wind of collection after collection that at one point became extremely exhausting, but quite a few great lipsticks, eyeshadows, and other items were in the mix. It was difficult to find some of my faves but some that stood out were the eyeshadows from the Nudes and Metallics collection, Diamonds CCB cream from the RiRi Hearts collection, and various lipsticks.

MAC Nudes and Metallics eyeshadows

MAC Nudes and Metallics eyeshadows

Nudes and Metallics was my favorite eyeshadow release from MAC in 2013 (and in a long time). The Veluxe Pearl formula is what I wish all of MAC’s shadows formulas could perform like. Pigmented, buttery soft, blends well, and easy to work with. I loved them so much that I actually backed them up!

Just a few of my favorite 2013 MAC lipstick (and a lipglass) releases

Just a few of my favorite 2013 MAC lipstick (and a lipglass) releases

MAClipstick

Although I’m not a huge RiRi fan I did get a few items from her collections because I liked the actual products. One of those items that I really like a lot is the Diamond CCB highlighter. I was really surprised by how much I liked it, especially with it being a cream product.

MAC RiRi Diamonds CCB

MAC RiRi Diamonds CCB

Urban Decay Cosmetics

I’ve always been a fan of Urban Decay eye shadows and these two palettes didn’t disappoint me. The quality and pigmentation that I’ve come to love and expect continue to exist with the brand and made these easy faves for the year.

Urban Decay Vice 2

Urban Decay Vice 2

UDVice2open

Urban Decay Naked 3

Urban Decay Naked 3

UDNaked3open

Magnolia Makeup

I received this amazing pigment from Magnolia Makeup while at The Makeup Show Orlando and it has been one of my favorite pigments to use. I can’t wait to try more of their products.

MagnoliaNinapigment

Beauty Blender

I recently posted a review about the Beauty Blender and I continue to be extremely satisfied with the performance of the BB. Since I started using them I haven’t applied my foundation with anything else.

Beauty Blenders and cleanser

Beauty Blenders and cleanser

Leave a Reply

