Product Review: Lime Crime Velvetine Liquid Lip Stains

I finally got a chance to try out some Lime Crime products after attending IMATS NYC last weekend. The line was insane just as I anticipated so I made sure to beeline to their booth on Pro Night to avoid any of the general admission days madness. Their Velvetines line was one of the main products on my wish list so I picked up 3 of them: Suedeberry, Wicked, and Pink Velvet.

For those that don’t already know about this product it’s a liquid lip stain that dries to a matte finish. It is long wearing (I wore Suedeberry to IMATS on Sunday and it stayed put for hours…even through a meal at Chipotle’s and several drinks). Surprisingly, it doesn’t ravage my lips like some matte products do but it’s by no means hydrating. I would definitely recommend these to anyone that loves a matte finish and wants something that they can put on and forget about.

20140420-200146.jpg
Swatched colors from left to right: Wicked, Pink Velvet, and Suedeberry

The only negative thing I have to say isn’t related to the actual performance of the product, but to the state of one of my Velvetines upon opening it for the first time. My Pink Velvet appeared to have been opened and possibly used before (product was all over the top and dried up around the grooves for twisting the cap on). Unfortunately I’m not sure if there is any way to remedy this since it was purchased at a trade show. Other than that I didn’t have any issues with these.

Leave a Reply

