Influenster Product Quickview: Yves Saint Laurent Mascara Volume Effet 

I received this product for testing purposes from Influenster. All opinions are based on my experience using this product.



I’m not a masacara addict but I do have my favorites (Benefit They’re Real! and the Cover Girl line of mascaras) so when I was sent the rereleased Yves Saint Laurent Mascara Volume Effet Faux Cils mascara to test out I was a little skeptical that I would love it. To be fair, I had never used any of YSL’s mascaras so I wasn’t aware that there was a huge cult following for their mascara. 

For those not familiar with this mascara here is a little info from their website. 

NEW improved formula does not dry out. The best gets even better, the original false lash effect mascara, now with an all new Lash Care formula. Achieve absolute dramatic lashes in a single stroke for eyes that instantly pop. Its secret is the Triple-Intensity Formula: intense volume, intense color and now intense care. The nylon fiber brush coats each lash in deep color and maximum volume from root to tip, while B5 Pro-Vitamin strengthens and protects lashes. Available in 6 signature YSL shades to compliment eye color or to create a customized look.

I received the black version of this mascara (number 1) and immediately dove in to try it out. I immediately noticed that the formula is very creamy. Although this is a great thing it is also a little easy to get a sloppy application if you don’t make sure you remove any excess product before applying. As advertised it does have intense color in just one coat while feeling somewhat moisturizing. The lashes remain soft even when applying an additional layer. 



Photos on left are with bare lashes. Photos on right with YSL Mascara Volume Effet Faux Cils

Although I still prefer Benefit’s They’re Real mascara as my dramatic eye look mascara I would definitely recommend this mascara as a close runner up. The only negative I experienced was that the YSL mascara was more prone to smearing than I would like. I’m not sure if there is a waterproof version but if there is I would probably go with that because of this issue. If you’re interested in trying this out it retails for $32 and can be found on YSL’s website and at retailers that carries their beauty line. 



Leave a Reply

