Product Quickview: Make Up For Ever Artist Plexi-Gloss



Make Up For Ever has added a line of lip glosses to their brand offering : Artist Plexi-Gloss. Retailing at $19 the line boasts a 35 color selection ranging from clear to black (and a healthy dose of options in between!). I personally strayed away from my lip gloss days years ago, but still stock a few in my kit for clients that prefer it over lipstick options. But after reading MUFE’s pitch on these glosses I figured I would give them a try. 

Impart vivid color and stunning shine with this innovative gloss formula. This non-sticky formula goes on smoothly, and its pigments are packed with Plexi Color Technology, delivering five-hour color impact while 360-degree, reflective shine beads maximize shine. The exclusive, artist-designed Superflex Applicator features a lip-hugging shape that allows for precision and control, and the super-loaded split-tip has a unique contour to sweep on the ideal amount of lip lacquer in pearly and non-pearly finishes.

One of the reasons I abandoned my previous love of lip gloss was the annoying sticky formula most seem to have. Once upon a time it didn’t bother me but today it’s perhaps the number one issue that makes me toss it in the “never will use” pile. So it was going to be the first thing I tested out when trying the 5 colors I picked up. 



Make Up For Ever Artist Plexi-Gloss (L to R): 104, 204, 306, 501, & 502P



I opted to get 4 “regular” (translation: cream formula) glosses and 1 pearl color to begin with. These are easy to discern in the lineup of ordering from online. Pearl colors will have a “P” at the end of the number. The colors I chose were:

  • 104 Brown Beige
  • 204 Old Pink
  • 306 Orange
  • 501 Purple
  • 502P Beetle
  • 

    Make Up For Ever Artist Plexi-Gloss 104, 204, 306, 501, & 502P

    The colors are extremely pigmented as far as lip gloss goes and to my delight feel far less sticky than most glosses tend to. They aren’t 100% sticky-free but it’s not an uncomfortable or annoying feeling. I wouldn’t expect full-fledge lipstick opacity with these since they are clearly lip gloss first, but the more color intense options will give you a healthy dose of pigmentation. I’d also like to mention that I don’t notice any scent when applying these. They are not drying but I wouldn’t call them hydrating. 

    

    Quick Lip Swatches of the Make Up For Ever Artist Plexi-Gloss. In order: 104, 204, 306, 501, & 502P (iPhone pics )

    

    Beetle (502P) was the color I was most intrigued by when I chose it, but was slightly disappointed in. The color appears a bit more blue in the tube than translates on my lips. The opacity can be built up a little more by applying a second coat (I didn’t experience an unpleasant gloopy feel doing so and that’s a plus) but it still doesn’t give the blue shift I imagined. I think it would do so if it were a true lipstick though so the disappointment is fleeting. It’s also worth noting that this can be applied sheerer also and used as a topper over a lipstick. I think it would give an interesting twist on your lipstick choice used that way. 

    

    Make Up For Ever Artist Plexi-Gloss applicator

    Overall, I like these lip glosses and can see adding more of the range to my kit. If you have tried these let me know what you think!  

    

    Leave a Reply

    