Product Quickview: Dyson Supersonic Hairdryer 



I don’t usually review hair care items but I felt like I needed to share my views on this Dyson Supersonic Hairdryer after seeing so many people comment on social media about the price tag and it’s worth. I received it thanks to my involvement in the Best Buy Tech Insider program. I usually limit my reviews of items received through the program to the Best Buy product page since most have not been beauty related. But hair care is just as related to beauty and all that it entails as makeup is. 


First let’s touch on the elephant in the room: the price tag. This dryer retails for $399.99. You saw that right. $399.99. It comes with the dryer of course and 3 attachments: 

  • Diffuser – for curly hair 
  • Smoothing Nozzle – Dries hair gently using smooth, wide air, allowing you to dry and style at the same time.
  • Styling Concentrator – High-velocity, focused air that lets you style one section at a time – without worrying about disturbing the rest.
  • No-slip Mat 



I was skeptical about this hair dryer…I wondered what in the world can make it so great that it held such an exorbitant price tag. Then I tried it. Despite what some people may think, every hair dryer is not equal. This one ranks up there with the elite of hair dryers. It dries quickly without damaging the hair or making your strands feel dehydrated. I don’t have a relaxer or any other chemical treatments so I rely on a good blowout and flat ironing session to offer me straight hair. The better the blowout the less heat I have to apply with a flat iron and the more likely I am able to go until my next wash before needing to use any additional heat. I had been happy with my previous hair dryer because it gave me good to slightly better results but after trying this one I realize that I wasn’t getting as great of an experience as I thought. My dry time was cut down to half of what it normally takes and I was able to flat iron more quickly with only one pass per section (something I have never been able to do). My hair was softer than usual and not nearly as dry as it normally is after I do a blowout and flat ironing (dry as in my hair wasn’t in desperate need of moisture restored).

This dryer is a little lighter than any other dryer I’ve used and it’s design definitely eliminated the arm fatigue I often experience. The attachments are easy to snap on and adjust thanks to the magnetic connection used. The ability to adjust the heat level and the airflow is great. I was surprised how powerful the airflow was on this dryer and was more surprised that I was able to use it on the lowest heat setting with medium airflow and still receive great results. The 9 ft cord is also appreciated. The 3 attachments included are great for almost any use needed although I would love for Dyson to offer a comb attachment in the future. It’s not a deal breaker but it would be nice to have the option available.

Overall I love how this dryer works. The only negative (and it’s a big one) is the price point. It’s an excellent hair dryer and well worth a premium price point…but I do think the pricing is above what most can and would want to pay for it. Ultimately it’s something I would recommend to everyone that can get their hands on it and can afford the price. With it’s 2 year warranty and the exceptional way that it performs it may very well be worth the investment. Especially if you usually go for cheap dryers but find yourself replacing them often. It’s too soon to say how long this dryer can hold up but the reputation of Dyson along with the great warranty gives me hope that I won’t be disappointed.

Pluses:

  • Cuts dry time down significantly 
  • Adjustable heating options and airflow options along with a cool air option that works better than any dryer I’ve used in the past 
  • 9 ft cord
  • 2 year warranty 
  • Design 

Con: 

  • Price 

Take a little closer look! 

Leave a Reply

